The Word Paintings and Music From The Film Blog Photographs

You’re invited! Artist Jim Landry returns to Joe’s with his show The Word Paintings and Music From The Film Blog Photographs

LANDRY

SHOW RUNS: September 22nd – December 29th, 2014

Opening Reception October 12, 3-5 pm. Click to RSVP

Closing Reception December 14, 3-5 pm. Click to RSVP

Artistic Statement

I always wanted to “do” things: take pictures, make music, construct paintings. For me, these activities all seemed like the same thing. I’m a photographer, painter, musician (keyboards), blogger, poet, performer, husband, and father.

After obtaining a B.A. in English and film from the University of Bridgeport in Connecticut, I moved to San Francisco for a year. There I got my first “real” camera, a Nikon, and learned to process film and make black-and-white prints. In 1972, I moved back to the Washington, D.C. area where I grew up, and eventually started a band, Acrylix. We toured the East Coast from New York to Miami. In 1985, the band reorganized as Shocko Bottom, named after a neighborhood in Richmond, VA. In 1988, I married Nicole Burton, a playwright, and we moved to Riverdale Park, MD. I’ve been a member of the Hyattsville Community Artists Alliance since 1990. My art, whether acrylic paintings, black-and-white photo prints, color photographs, or collaborations with poets, keeps me engaged and leads me to the next project I need to start. The works seem to create themselves in a circle, and we know that a circle has no end.

Photo Blogging

From 2005 to 2011, I created a photo blog, http://www.musicfromthefilm.blogspot.com/, combining photographs with stream-of-consciousness and “found” narrative. The site has received thousands of worldwide hits and includes over 1,000 of my photographs.

Leave a Reply

